Pork Free Post: Carrot-Almond Milk Pudding

20 Aug

We’re off for a much needed 15-day vacation this week, and I couldn’t be happier. It has been waaaay too long since we’ve had a real getaway. Very excited for relaxing on Nantucket beaches.

I’ve got the house to myself for a few days, so I’m trying to work through the fresh food we have before we go away. First on my list was some almond milk that I needed to use up. I figured that a pudding would be a good use, since I could snack on it over time and it wouldn’t make too much. I loaded up Google to find a good almond milk pudding recipe and came across the most interesting idea on the My Creative Flavors blog – Carrot and Almond Milk pudding. That would be perfect, since I’ve got a whole bunch of carrots that need to be used. Christian has also started to buy key limes for cocktails, but we didn’t go through the last bag – I thought that might be an interesting addition to the pudding as well.

I doctored up the recipe a bit, based on what I had and didn’t have. So the below one is slightly different that the original, but absolutely delicious. It is sweet, but not too sweet; rich in texture, but still light tasting. Nutritionally, it isn’t too bad for you. Each serving has about 168 calories, 5 grams of fat and 15 mg cholesterol. For a dessert, those are pretty good numbers. Amazing stuff – definitely will be made again. You need to make this!

Carrot – Almond Milk Pudding

  • 2 cups unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 1/2 cup half-and-half
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom
  • zest from 3 key limes

In a saucepan, add the almond milk and shredded carrots. Bring to a boil, then simmer for about 15 minutes. Cool for roughly 10 minutes, then add to a blender or Cuisinart and puree. Rinse out saucepan and return milk-carrot mixture to it.

Add the half-and-half, sugar and cardamom to the milk-carrot mixture. Remove about 1/2 cup of the mixture and add the cornstarch; whisk to incorporate and return to the saucepan, stirring constantly. Bring to a boil and simmer for a minute or two until it starts to thicken. Stir in lime zest.

When done, ladle into four 1/2-cup ramekins. Chill for an hour or so. Garnish with additional zest, if desired.

Leave a Reply

