Day Twenty Six: BBQ Pork Stuffed Mini Corn Muffins

4 Apr

On Saturday night we all convened at another friend’s house to watch the Final Four games. UCONN won, which was nice. Amidst the game watching there were babies bouncing (and scooting across the floor at high speeds), wine drinking, and of course, food eating.

My contribution to the event was mini corn muffins stuffed with bbq pork. I had a smaller chunk of the shoulder left, which I figured I could use up for some snacks to bring along. I almost feel like this dish is kind of cheating, not really following the rules of my challenge – it is just too easy. But I’m still counting it – 100 different recipes will require me to get pretty inventive real soon.

I’m not including a recipe with this, since it is quite simple. Just throw your pork shoulder (mine was about 1/2 lb) in the crockpot with some onions and a splash of stock/broth for a few hours on low. Meanwhile, make up some bbq sauce if you aren’t using your favorite bottled kind. When the pork is done, chop it up and mix it with the bbq sauce. Whip up some cornbread (I made a gf version with cornmeal and white rice flour), and you’re almost done. Using a mini muffin pan, spoon a small amount of batter into each cup, then add some of the chopped pork, and cover with more batter. I did three variations – one with just pork, one with pork and sharp cheddar, and one with jalepenos and pork. Serve with some bbq sauce on the side to dip the little muffins in, and that is it. Pretty easy, huh?

These were all eaten up – great finger food for a party. I think they’d be great using a normal size muffin tin, which would yield a more substantial sandwich-like muffin. The larger ones could work well as a part of a light lunch with a salad. It seems like it would be a great thing to take along for a picnic or a beach day.

Leave a Reply

