Day Thirteen: Pizza with Pulled Pork, Taleggio Cheese and Arugula

9 Dec

I wish I could take credit for this recipe, but I can’t. This is a dish that Jamie Oliver crafted. Playing around with pizza is fun – the possibilities are really rather limitless.  Upon finding this, I loved the idea of creamy taleggio cheese melted with the pulled pork, and spiced up with some lemony arugula.  I just had to try it.

Overall, this pizza was good. I definitely thought it was better than Christian did, and that probably has to do with the fact we’re eating gluten-free crust. I suspect this would be way better with regular crust, but whatever. The flavors were great, and I was happy with the result. Admittedly, not the best dish and nothing special, but good nonetheless.

I’m not going to include the written recipe here – it isn’t very difficult and is rather simple. In fact, I didn’t even follow it. Pizza isn’t rocket science – having the recipe was good for getting the flavor combination.

For this dish, I threw a pork shoulder in the crockpot this morning, which I’ll also use for the next two dishes after this one. And the tomato sauce I used was an easy one I throw together frequently for pizza – just saute up some garlic (1 large clove) and onion (about 1/4 onion)  in olive oil, add some fennel seeds (a tsp or so) and a bay leaf, then throw in a little wine and some canned tomatoes (I use whole tomatoes that I crush with my hand as I add them). Simmer that for a bit to thicken, puree with an immersion blender, simmer a bit more and season with salt and pepper. One can of tomatoes yields enough sauce for 2 pizzas that are about 10″ to 12″ in diameter.

I cooked these on a pizza stone – first prebaking the crust at a high heat to make it crispy, then topping with the pork, cheese and thyme, and then baking again until it was bubbling; total baking time was maybe 15 minutes, but it will depend on your crust. The dressed arugula gets added when the pizza is done.

I’d recommend trying this, especially if you’ve got some leftover pork that you aren’t sure what to do with, or if you’re sick of the good old “standards”. It is surely something different and quite tasty. Just make sure the leftover pork isn’t highly seasoned with something like barbeque sauce. That wouldn’t be so good.

Recipe for Jamie Oliver’s Pork and Taleggio Pizza with Arugula

2 Responses to “Day Thirteen: Pizza with Pulled Pork, Taleggio Cheese and Arugula”

  1. cory December 10, 2010 at 12:19 AM #

    I can’t believe you’re bashing bbq sauce…or maybe it’s just for this pizza? I’d be all over making a bbq pizza with the same pork…using bbq sauce instead of tomato, and then maybe some smoked gouda, red onion, and cilantro.

    Then again, I’m not too keen on tomatoes, like you aren’t too keen on gluten…

    Like you said, the possibilities are endless here…

    • Kristina December 10, 2010 at 8:42 AM #

      I meant specifically for this pizza, yes. Pork with bbq sauce and taleggio just doesn’t seem good to me. But yeah, a good pizza with bbq sauce, pulled pork and a milder cheese might be something you’ll see on here later. Seems like a summer dish to me, since I think it would be good grilled. I’ve got a few other pizza ideas in my head that I’ll throw in the mix. They are good “fillers” on my way to 100!

Leave a Reply

