Day Eight: Cubanish Grilled Cheese

8 Nov

Rudi’s Organic makes quite possibly the best bread you can find in a grocery store, in our opinion.  Hearty, but fluffy, and just tastes darn good. Kinda pricey for bread, but worth it. So, needless to say, I became very sad when I learned I can’t eat real bread like Rudi’s. I tried really hard to like gluten-free bread, but if anyone has ever picked up a loaf of the stuff, the sheer weight alone is reason enough not to buy it. Sure, there are some decent ones that I can eat as long as it is toasted and the flavor is overpowered by lots of good fillings, but the texture is what always gets me.

That was until I was browsing the frozen section of Whole Foods and saw the greatest thing ever – Rudi’s Organic Gluten-Free bread. And it was on sale. I nearly screamed. Even without reviews, I knew this stuff would just be good. When I got home with my new treasure, I toasted some up and it was just as good as I remember the real stuff being. Perfect texture and taste.

Now that I’ve made this discovery, I am relearning the basics of using bread. Egg, bacon and cheese breakfast sandwiches, toast with butter, grilled cheese and bread crumbs are all back in my life. Grilled cheese is the one thing I think I’ve missed the most, and I get so jealous every time I’ve seen Christian make them.  But no longer.

So now I’m getting creative with grilled cheese, which led to Saturday night’s dinner, something I called a Cubanish Grilled Cheese. It takes the idea of a Cuban sandwich and throws it into a more grilled cheese format. It was delicious – cheesy goodness mixed with flavorful shredded pork, mustard and pickles. It probably would have been even better with a good crusty roll, like those used for a real Cuban sandwich, but I’ll take what I can get…..and so will Christian.

The amount of pork I cooked was way more than you need for the sandwich, leaving some good leftovers (we just ate it cold the next day, but it would have been really good in a quesadilla or for tacos).

Cubanish Grilled Cheese Sandwich

  • Pork Shoulder (I used about 3/4 lb, which yielded enough for leftovers)
  • Juice of 1 orange
  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 1/2 onion, sliced into wedges
  • 1 garlic clove, chopped
  • 4 slices swiss cheese
  • Sliced dill pickles
  • Mustard (I used dijon, but anything would be good)
  • 4 slices of bread
  • Butter

Put the whole shoulder piece into a crockpot with the orange juice, lime juice, onion and garlic. Cook on low for about 8 hours, or on high for about 5 hours, until the pork is tender and shreds. Shred the pork and mix with the onions and the pan juices.

Butter one side of each slice of bread. Turn over, and on one slice for each sandwich, spread on some mustard; cover with one slice of swiss cheese. Pile on some pork, then pickles, then another slice of swiss chesse, and top with the second slice of bread. (You can put mustard on the 2nd slice of bread if you want).

Melt butter on a cast iron skillet or griddle over medium heat. Add the sandwiches and cook until browned and toasted. Turn over and cook the other side.

Leave a Reply

