Pork Free Post: The BEST Brownies, ever

17 Jul

As promised in my comeback post, I’m going to start adding more non-pork recipes, the first of which is a brownie recipe. The almond coconut brownies I posted a while ago are tremendous, but these are crazy good.

Dark chocolate is one of the greatest things on the planet – that super bitterness mixed with a touch of sweet is fabulous. When I was younger, I used to love Hershey’s Dark Chocolate bars. I thought it was soooo fancy. That was before I knew what real dark chocolate was all about. Now, that Hershey’s stuff is nasty sweet, and totally unappealing. Another great thing about dark chocolate? It is filled with healthy antioxidants, giving me more reason to eat it.

So the brownies. I came across these on the Baking Bites site, so I can’t claim them as my own. The relatively minimal amount of “flour” (actually, there is zero flour in here) makes them super dense and rich, almost like eating a chocolate truffle or piece of fudge. For the melted chocolate content, I used 1 oz of 100% dark chocolate and 1 oz of 85% dark chocolate, both high quality, and the chocolate chips were 85% dark chocolate. I did throw in some walnuts, but contemplated mixing a bunch of nuts – cashews, walnuts and almonds. Next time, right?

Also, the original recipe uses a microwave to melt the chocolate and butter. I do not own a microwave, so I used the double-boiler recipe. If you want to use a microwave, follow the original recipe which is linked below.

Fudgy GF Dark Chocolate Brownies

(Adapted from Baking Bites)

  • 1/2 cup butter (or coconut oil)
  • 2 oz dark chocolate, chopped
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup (or more!) of nuts, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line an 8×8 baking dish with foil and spray with nonstick spray (FYI – I didn’t do this, and they didn’t stick at all).

In a small saucepan, bring some water to a simmer. Place a metal bowl over the saucepan (without letting the bowl touch the water); add the chopped chocolate and butter. Using a silicone spatula, stir until completely melted. 

In another bowl, whisk together the sugar, cocoa powder and cornstarch. Add in the butter / chocolate mixture and stir to combine. Whisk in vanilla and salt, then add the eggs one at a time, stirring to incorporate. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts.

Pour the mixture into the pan and bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until brownie edges are set. Cool completely before slicing (this is really hard to do!). 

The original recipe says 25 small bites or 16 larger brownies, but those must have been pretty darn small. I got about 16 small brownies out of the recipe, which were about 2″x2″. Clearly my “small” brownies are equivalent to other people’s “normal” or “larger” size brownies. Oh well…..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

